Special Features Section

Jewell County Record

and The Superior Express Jewell County News section


KDOT announces airport improvement projects

Biking Across Kansas announces route, registration info



KDOT announces airport improvement projects
A dozen airports have been selected for Kansas Airport Improvement Program funding to repair or improve facilities and enhance air ambulance access.
The projects selected for this Kansas Department of Transportation program will receive a combined total of up to $2 million in fiscal year 2017. KAIP requires airport sponsors to pay a minimum of five percent of the total project costs up to a maximum of 50 percent, depending on project category (of modernization, equipment, design and preservation). The combined project cost of the 12 projects is $2.25 million.
The projects approved by Transportation Secretary Mike King are the first phase of new KAIP projects; a second phase remains under review.
"These projects will help us toward a goal of making critical air services accessible to 94 percent of the state's population," King said. "Recent improvements to rural airports have brought us to 90 percent of the population covered by airports that can be accessed by air ambulance operators."
KAIP is allocated $5 million annually through the T-WORKS transportation program. KDOT's Division of Aviation, which manages the program, received 114 applications for projects totaling $38.7 million.
"The applications each year exceed funding, indicating the value local officials attach to maintaining their airports," said Greg Chenoweth, state aviation planner. "KAIP allows us to advance the effectiveness of our airport system."
Seventy-five percent of the selected projects assist or address airport air ambulance capability through equipment installations and runway improvements; the remaining 25 percent of projects enhance airport business functions and fuel sales.
Communities selected for funding and the amount requested include:
Beloit ­ Install precision approach lighting; $25,500.
Clay Center ­ Install Automated Weather Observation System; $120,000.
Coldwater ­ Install Automated Weather Observation System; $120,000.
Concordia ­ Mill and overlay runway; $431,750.
Fredonia ­ Widen runway; $635,280.
Independence ­ Upgrade Automated Weather Observation System; $100,000.
Jetmore ­ Repair airfield pavement; $388,050.
Kingman ­ Replace existing fuel tank; $250,000.
Marion ­ Install credit card reader for 24-hour fueling; $25,000.
Newton ­ Acquire voltage regulator for airfield lights; $25,500.
Ottawa ­ Install Jet-A fuel pump; $89,000.
Smith Center ­ Replace obsolete weather sensor component; $30,000.

Biking Across Kansas announces route, registration info
Biking Across Kansas has announced the route for its 42nd annual bicycle tour across Kansas. Registration opened at midnight on Jan. 29. The event is the largest bicycling event in Kansas history ­­ a 450-mile ride across the state ­­ and begins on June 4. Biking Across Kansas is an eight-day tour that starts at the Kansas-Colorado border west of Saint Francis. Overnight stops will be Oberlin, Phillipsburg Mankato, Belleville, Marysville, Sabetha and Troy. The cyclists' final night together will be in Troy on Friday, June 10. The following morning they will cycle to the banks of the Missouri River and will celebrate the end of the ride in Elwood.
The route also includes Atwood, Norton, Smith Center, Seneca, Hiawatha and many more Kansas communities.
"Cycling the northern route along U.S. 36 has been a favorite of past participants, passing through a beautiful part of Kansas that many have never visited before. Our participants will pedal by the geographic center of the United States near Lebanon and take a short side trip to the Brewster Higley cabin where the Kansas state song, "Home on the Range, " was written in 1872.
Other highlights include Pawnee Indian Village and the Pony Express station in Hollenberg, said David Rohr, chairman of Biking Across Kansas. Riders will range in age from eight to 88 years old. Multiple generation families are expected again this year. Many riders will be from Kansas, but entries will also represent as many as 30 states, including as far away as Massachusetts, Florida, New Mexico, Washington and California. In addition, participants are anticipated from countries outside the United States.
The main goals of Biking Across Kansas are to promote wellness through bicycling, celebrate Kansas history and the beauty of its landscape and enjoy the warm hospitality of its towns and
people. For more information on Biking Across Kansas 2016 or to register visit Biking Across Kansas started in 1975 with fewer than 100 riders. Forty-two years later, the tour is now capped at 900 participants.

To go to the top of the page and choose another story, click here.