Many back issues of this newspaper are available at the following address:


We have videos available starting with the Nuckolls County Fair 2013. After watching the first you may chose to watch others, More than 100 local videos are in this grouping we have linked to on Youtube. Some are by our staff, others by friends.



June 23, 2016 issue

Our readers are encouraged to like the Jewell County Record's Facebook page


Survey will assess assisted living needs within the county

Semi destroyed by fire east of Montrose

Wheat harvest underway

Jewell County Fair will be July 10-13

The Cyber Express-Record

Digital reproductions of the mailed pages of The Superior Express and Jewell County Record newspapers are organized by date of publication. Click the link

The Superior Express & Jewell County News 23 June 2016


Photo Archive


Survey will assess assisted living needs within the county

The Jewell County Community Development Association received a grant from the Dane G. Hansen Foundation to fund research in the county to be conducted by the Docking Institute at Fort Hays State University. The research will be in the form of a postal-administered survey with the purpose of measuring the demand and support in the county for an assisted living facility. Surveys will be sent out to the adult population of Jewell County and can be expected to arrive in the mail on Monday.
All who receive a survey are encouraged to respond quickly, especially those in households that are home to someone over the age of 60, or those who are responsible for the well-being of anyone who is 75 years or older. Feedback is vital to the institute's evaluation of health and living needs for the aging population in Jewell County. The Docking Institute of Public Affairs has a mission of facilitating public policy for both governmental and non-profit organizations. They are providing Jewell County Community Development the opportunity to present data to public officials about the issue of assisted living, with the objective of facilitating local action to serve Jewell County's elderly population as effectively as possible.
Residents are asked to watch for the survey in the mail, fill it out and return it immediately. Also, to remind their older loved ones to watch for the survey, and tell them it is important, not junk mail. For more information, contact the Jewell County Community Development Association via email at

To go to the top of the page and choose another story, click here.

Semi destroyed by fire east of Montrose
At approximately 12:40 p.m. Monday, the Mankato Volunteer Fire Department responded to a fire 3/4 mile east of Montrose on Highway 36. A semi truck loaded with vehicles had caught fire. The driver of the CARS, Inc., truck, who was traveling west on Highway 36, smelled smoke and stopped to check it out. The truck caught fire and was completely destroyed. Some of the flames ignited the grass along the north ditch right-of-way, but the fire department was able to contain the fire and it was extinguished before spreading. None of the vehicles being hauled on the trailer caught fire. The driver of the semi escaped without injury. Jewell County Sheriff's Department and Kansas Department of Transportation personnel stayed at the scene until a wrecker from Salina was able to remove the wreckage and debris. The accident was investigated by the Kansas Highway Patrol.

Wheat harvest underway

As early as last Tuesday the 2016 wheat harvest story had progressed as far north as Glen Elder. That day the Farmway Co-op Elevator received its first load of 2016 wheat. According to Christy Ellenz, employee of the elevator, as of Monday at 10:30 p.m., the elevator had taken in 820,000 bushel of wheat that had an average test weight of 62 lbs. with a few 63, 64, and even 65 test weights. Moisture for the most part has been 12.
According to Eldon Pate at the Farmway Co-op Elevator at Esbon, the elevator received the first wheat, 4,000 bushels, on Monday. The wheat had a test weight of 60 to 61 lbs. per bushel with moisture ranging from 10 to 12 percent. The present price Tuesday was $3.51.
Dan Waterman at the Jewell branch elevator operated by the Randall Farmers Co-op Elevator reported the elevator received its first load of 2016 wheat on Thursday. By Monday the wheat was rolling in with 60,000 bushels received. Test weights were in the 60 plus range with moisture of 10 to 11. The wheat market closed Monday at $3.61 in Jewell.
Kris Williams at Randall Farmers Co-op Elevator reported the first load of 2016 wheat was received Saturday but the weekend harvest was really slow. Monday the wheat was starting to roll and by Monday evening the elevator had taken in a total of 111,000 bushels. Average test weights were 60 with moisture averaging 12. Some harvesters cut until nearly 10 p.m. Wheat prices had dropped to $3.55 by the time the newspaper talked to Kris Tuesday mid-morning.
Debbie Patak at Midway Coop Elevator in Burr Oak said one load of wheat came in to the elevator Monday afternoon with a test weight of 61.7 and 12.6 moisture. Reports were that others started later in the day Monday.
Julie Harvey at Midway Co-op Elevator in Mankato said Monday they took in 11,000 bushels of wheat with an average test weight of 62 and 11 moisture. Monday the closing wheat price at Mankato was $3.56.

Jewell County Fair will be July 10-13

At this year's Jewell County Fair, there will be a 4-H GOLD display of past and present 4-H members. These members need to contact the extension office.
The extension office in Mankato still has a few 4-H fair plaques that need sponsors. Once again, contact the extension office for more information.
The sponsored supper will again be served Tuesday evening from 5 to 7 p.m. The meal is made possible through donations from local financial institutions. The meal will be sliced smoked pork loin or hot dog, cheesy potatoes, green beans or corn, garden relishes, watermelon and a beverage; prepared and served by the fair board, junior leaders and 4-H families at the fair food stand.
Tickets for this meal will be available at Central National Bank, Mankato; Farmway Credit Union, Mankato; Guaranty State Banks in Burr Oak, Esbon and Jewell; and The State Exchange Bank, Mankato, until Monday, July 11. The sponsoring banks' employees will be helping to serve the meal. Family fun planned for Tuesday evening. There will be snow cones, a greased pig contest; children's tractor pull sponsored by NexTech, water inflatables and a giant slide sponsored by Prairie Land Electric, and a "fun rodeo" sponsored by the Jewell County Saddle Club.

To go to the top of the page and choose another story, click here.